One Monthish Later…

So I thought I would be update my blog more often but it has not quite been able to work out that easily yet.  Between simply getting settled here, getting used to working at a new Starbucks store, and getting used to life in organic church, I have yet to really find a rhythm to life.  Hopefully, that will change in the coming weeks and/or months but we will have to see, I guess.

I am still working for Starbucks here in Gainesville, which is going incredibly well.  I enjoy my co-workers a lot and, after only being here a month, my manager has made me one of two barista trainers at our store.  So I’ll be one of the ones responsible for training any new hires who will be working morning or afternoon shifts.  I’m looking forward to this a lot and I”m just amazed that I am being given this possibility.

As for life in organic church, it is difficult to even begin to describe what it is like living in it.  It is nothing like anything I have ever been a part of or experienced before.  Life is no longer about what must be done but learning what it means to be and live in Christ as a community.  Each day is about continuing to discover the vastness of Christ, both individually and with others.  The meeting on Saturday night of each week is the culmination of our experiences with Christ during the week, which are shared with others so that they may experience the ways others have experienced the Lord.  We are the blind people in the Indian parable who are seeing the elephant from different perspectives, perceiving it is something else.  We are perceiving Christ from different perspectives, none of them the same, but with one difference: we all know Who we are experiencing but that other perspectives are needed.  He is beyond what any one of us might experience so we must rely on others to bear witness to what they have seen so that we come to even slightly know Jesus Christ more.

As to what the average month looks like in our community, we begin each month planning what the next month will look like, as well as any issue that the church needs to come to a consensus on how to deal with it.  We plan what each month will look like in terms of  activities and what we will prepare for each week.  We also always try and look at some long term plans such as retreats and sharing the Lord’s Supper as a whole community.  What we do each week  can be very different.  We could look at a them within Scripture or do some fun activity in which we demonstrate Christ to each other.  Each week also includes getting together with others often to support them or to just watch a movie.

All I can say above all is that, even though I love my biological family, I am truly a part of a a family here, where every person is deeply loved.  This is a really exciting time for me and I’m so happy to be here for it.  It is amazing to see God at work in my family here and to see Christ in them.  I look forward to continue to seek God alone with these people, as we share in this journey together.

~ by hardybeefstew on February 15, 2011.

12 Responses to “One Monthish Later…”

  1. Very well put, bro. You described some profound things in only a few paragraphs. That is awesome!

    • Thanks Michael. To be honest, this mostly just came to me as I was writing this. I’m glad you enjoyed it.

  2. Very glad you’re here. Nice blog!

  3. Your words have been an encouragement to me…I especially loved your description of discovering the vastness of Christ…that will resonate with me for a long time! Thanks for sharing!

    • To be honest, that idea just struck me as I was thinking of how best to convey what it means to seek Christ as a community beyond simply being individuals who seek Christ and then happen to join with a community later in the week.

      I’m looking forward to seeing you and Larry in a month or so. I’m so happy that you’re going to be visiting.

  4. Excellent description. I might tell people to read this when they ask what it’s all about because I never know what to tell them.

    • Thanks Brett. I’m glad you find this a good description of what organic church life is like, which would especially be helpful to people outside our group. I was hoping this would be easily accessible to other people.

  5. Welcome to the family, brother.

    • Thanks R.C. I enjoyed getting to know you, your family, and everyone else in my time down here so far. I really enjoy our movie nights as well.

  6. Marc, thanks for taking the time to update us on how body life is going in Gainesville. I’m so encouraged to see what our Lord is doing.
    Larry

    • Thanks Larry. I hope to update this more often, though I guess I’ll get to share more with you in person when you come down and visit in a month or so.

Leave a Reply

 
